Everything’s alright…honestly…

Ever get that feeling when everything is going just fine, but you still want to cry? Perhaps it’s the loss of summer. We were enjoying such a wonderful warm, sunny spell and it ended with a burst of thunderous applause. In no time at all, roads were flooded, the sun was lost behind tumultuous clouds and everyone complained of headaches. Ah, well! It was nice while it lasted. It had been such joy to see arms and legs again and watch them being coloured in or dotted with freckles. The annoying thing is that it’s still there, the sun, just swathed in layers of wet bath towels. We can only hope it’ll give us another dance once it’s dried off.

It’s the only thing I can think of. Everything is alright…honestly… So why do I have this feeling?

I really need to cry

It ebbs and flows inside me

As though summoned by the moon

Walks within my being

Shades the light in every room

I really need to cry

Like a lake near overflowing

Lipping, lapping on the shore

Held by trembling meniscus

Fearing only one drop more

I really need to cry

A weeping weight of water

Waiting, washing to and fro

Dammed by fear inside me

To be a torrent once let go

3 thoughts on “Everything’s alright…honestly…”

  1. With you! The other day, came home from work, turned on bath taps for much needed cool bath and unexpectedly turned on a torrent of tears – full blown sobbing! Weird weather. Glad to know I’m not alone, Christine. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Beautiful words, Christine. Very moving. I was fine, honestly…… till I read your poem. Wish I could write poetry like you.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.