There’s Only One Rule About Back to School…

…but it’s a biggie!

One of my sons asked me to look out a photograph from when he started school. He’s all grown up now and it’s been a while since I last saw that particular photo so I had to go digging through the zillions of photographs we’ve gathered over the many years of our family history.

We have a family WhatsApp group and I started posting various photographs I thought would give the kids a laugh, ending up with a whole raft of them and a lot of fun and laughing emoticons. What treasure my afternoon’s digging unearthed.

From the sublime…

IMG_4592

…to the ridiculous!

IMG_4591

…and many in between…

IMG_4639

It was a real nostalgia trip – which brings me to

The One Rule About Back to School

Treasure it.

Treasure everything about it. It’s so quickly gone. One day, you’re sobbing as you watch them go through the school gate for the first time, the next, they’re all grown up and married and you’re comforting them as their little ones go off for their first day of school.

I remember my first day. I got into trouble for talking. Now there’s a surprise!

IMG_4621

That’s me, second from the left in the first row (on the bench), proud in my school blazer, squinting myopically at the camera. I don’t remember being told not to smile 🙂

What about you? Do you have memories of that eventful day in your life? You might even be in that photo with me 🙂

Why not share your memories in the comments – photos too, if you’ve got them.

~~~

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
