Thanks for the Rain

My thankfulness walk today was taken in the rain, and guess one of the things I was thankful for. Yes, my trusty wellies! I love my pink wellies. I’ve had them a long time, used them a lot, and they are still pretty and practical.

Funny, I used to dodge the rain whenever I could, but since I’ve been taking my thankfulness walks round the garden, I really don’t mind it at all. I might mind, of course, if it was pouring in torrents, but gentle rain – that I can take no bother. It’s rather pleasant. Living in Scotland, we really have to get used to it. But after all, that’s why Scotland is such a glorious, lush, green country.

My novels are all set in various parts of Scotland, so rain often features in them. It would be odd if it didn’t. So how do my characters cope with the rain? Like me, they have no choice but to get on with it, but they don’t have to like it. Mirabelle does.

Mirabelle is totally unfazed by the weather. She turns her face up to catch snow on her tongue, to feel gentle rain on her cheeks. Perhaps you’d like to read a wee passage about her preferred outerwear, come rain, hail, snow or sun:

~~~

An Excerpt from Searching for Summer.

Mirabelle adjusted her position, resting her face against the cold glass, listening to the rain so close to her cheek she could almost feel it pock her skin. She stayed like that until the side of her face felt flat and cold. A shiver ran through her and she hugged the duvet closer.
Was Summer cold? Was she dry? What coat was she wearing?
Seized with a need to know if her daughter was adequately clothed for the weather, Mirabelle abandoned her window vigil, letting the duvet fall in a frilly, floral snowdrift and rushed to the closet in the hall. She raked through the coats and scarves and assorted rags and tags hanging there.
She herself hated coats, never wore one: too restrictive, too formal. Instead, no matter the weather, she would wrap a poncho or some soft, colourful material around her shoulders. Two layers if it was cold, three if it was colder. When heavy with rain, she’d hang them around the house to dry: multi-hued banners proclaiming her artless individuality. When the fringes frayed and tattered, she’d discard the shawl and use another.

~~~

So what about you? Do you cope well with the rain, even liking being out in it? Do you have a favourite coat or pair of wellies? Or a favourite umbrella?

Do share in the comments. I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you.

~~~

The Reluctant Detective Series

Searching for Summer ~ Traces of Red ~ Rusty Gold

~~~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. QP and Eye
    May 27, 2016 @ 20:56:12

    I love the rain in whatever form it arrives. Our garden is so dry and when the winter winds hurtle through they take whatever skerrick of moisture remains, after morning’s dew, with them. Unlike Mirabelle I love this time of year for the very reason I can wear one of my three coats and wrap up in gorgeous scarves and neckwarmers. 🙂 Linda

    Like

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      May 27, 2016 @ 21:19:36

      Hi, Linda. Thanks for commenting. I see from your profile that you live in Australia, so just as our spring is playing one-step-forward-two-steps-back, you’ll be heading into winter, won’t you? Yes, Mirabelle enjoys a scarf or two as well as her shawls and ponchos – just not coats. Me? I’m a summer girl at heart, and Scottish summers suit me well enough because I prefer it not to be too hot.
      I hope you enjoyed the wee insight into Mirabelle’s character. I suspect from your profile you and she would get along well. She’s also an independent lady who had a difficult upbringing but, on a good day, is a lot of fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
