A Kind of Library

When so many libraries are closing down, when information is so readily available on the Internet, is there a case for supporting your local library? Some people think so.
Helen MacKinven is one.

theprimewriters

‘I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library’ – Jorge Luis Borges

On National Libraries Day, Helen MacKinven, author of Talk of the Toun, tells us about the role libraries have always played in her life.

Helen MacKinven Helen MacKinven

I didn’t grow up in a house filled with books (I don’t think the Littlewoods catalogue counts). But I did grow up with my mum taking me and my sister to the local library every week. The weekly pilgrimage was the only way to satisfy our appetite for books. I can still remember being transported from my terraced Council house in a working-class village in central Scotland to the seaside boarding school from the Malory Towers series.

malory.jpg  And I spent hours copying pictures from reference books to create my handmade (does this count as self-publishing?) non-fiction book, ‘Fashion through the Ages’ (my love of books and…

View original post 382 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
