#Read about Guest #Author Wendy Janes

An enjoyable guest post on Chris the Story Reading Ape’s blog. His guest is the delightful Wendy Janes who has just published her first solo novel, but I’ll let Wendy tell you about all that.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Wendy JanesHi, my name is Wendy Janes, and I come from a family of storytellers.

I was brought up on a diet of my grandmothers’ stories about their many brothers and sisters, my maternal grandfather’s imaginative re-tellings of traditional tales, and my paternal grandfather’s narration of his experiences during two world wars.

Around the family dinner table, my parents would often describe their own recollections of being evacuated during the Second World War, their lives in London in the 1950s and 60s, followed by stories of everyday coincidences, random happenings, bizarre characters met in waiting rooms and at the supermarket. Soon my brother and I were joining in with anecdotes of our own.

Regular refrains around the family dinner table when I was growing up were, “You couldn’t make it up!” or, “That would make a good story,” often followed by, “If I was a writer I’d put that in a…

View original post 720 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
