Why Do You Write?

I’ve been rather busy lately, what with one thing and another, and have been neglecting my blog, I’m afraid, so it was interesting to read this post on Kate’s. I had half prepared one on the same subject.

Why do you write?

I have been asking other authors. The answers have been many and varied, and some of them are echoed here in Kate M. Colby’s heartfelt answer. These answers have been duly noted down and will be shared with you in another post soon, honest! Just as soon as I get my WIP off to the publisher.

(Yes, I really am at that stage with Traces of Red. How exciting is that?)

As for me, why do I write?
How could I not?
For me, writing is an extension of talking and I could talk for Scotland!
Everything’s a story and there’s a story in everything.
If I didn’t tell them or write them I do believe I’d go mad.

Kate M. Colby

Why do you write? What I love about this question is that there are infinite answers. Every writer has his/her unique reasons and those reasons can change based on mood, a phase in life, and/or the particular writing piece.

On one level, this can be a practical question. Seriously, why do you write when it is such a difficult field to succeed in? It can also be a spiritual question. What in your soul calls you to this creative outlet? From other writers, it can be a call for help or community. Why do we do this when it is so hard and it dredges up such painful insecuritiesMy favorite is when it is a question of wonderment and fascination. How in the world do you think up these ideas and what magical force compels you to see them through?

I’ve been going through a bit of a…

View original post 279 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glynis Jolly
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 14:00:15

    I write because I have a underlying obsession to communicate, yet I’m not really big on talking. When I do talk, I’m usually misunderstood or perceived as not being interesting enough to listen to. Don’t think badly of the people who react this was. Often it’s just a matter of bad timing. Writing solves this problem, giving the person the option to pay attention later.

    Like

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Aug 25, 2015 @ 14:04:42

      Thank you for your comment, Glynis. I understand what you’re saying.
      I have the opposite problem in a way. Sometimes I am conscious that I talk too much, so I make an effort not to. Like you, I find that writing my thoughts down gives people the choice whether or not to listen to what I have to say.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
