Beta Readers: Who are They, What Do They Do, and How Do You Find Them?

Ever wondered what beta readers do?
Here’s a good, simple explanation from Kate Colby.

Kate M. Colby

kindle-381242_640In the comments section of my post about the different types of editing authors need, many authors chimed in about the value of beta readers as a first line of editorial defense. A few authors even stated that they use beta readers in place of developmental/content editors.

When I first began my long (oh, so long) road to learning about independent publishing, I had never heard of beta readers before. While I hope my audience is not as clueless as I was, I recognize that it may be helpful to new authors, like myself, to explain exactly what the role of beta readers is in the editing process and how one finds beta readers.

What is a beta reader?

A beta reader is someone who reads the novel after the author writes it, but before it is officially published, and offers feedback and criticism.

What feedback does a…

View original post 786 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
