How Do I Get Someone to Write a Serious #Review About My #Book?

All authors long for a whole avalanche of 5-star reviews. Who wouldn’t? Interestingly, Connie Flanagan says that’s not always a good thing. An honest review is worth far more than one given to flatter in a review exchange.

Everything Indie

Marketing importance of 5-Star Amazon Reviews Click image to find out WHY you need those reviews

Book giveaways are intended to encourage the winners and/or people who download your free eBook to write reviews. As a new author, your obscurity may be the one thing holding you back from success, so you’ll be eager to see those reviews pour in. Whether or not you get many reviews as a direct result of a giveaway, however, offering your book for free to a large number of readers can still have a positive effect on sales. Word-of-mouth continues to be one of the best means of advertising, so if each of your readers recommends your book to a friend or two, you will see an increase in sales as recommendations proceed from reader to reader(s). In this fashion, enthusiastic readers will be inspired to write reviews.

Whether for a free promotion or for sales, consider using BookLinker

View original post 1,606 more words

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Z. R. Southcombe
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 19:57:20

    Thanks for sharing this, Christine. I had a read and there were a couple things I picked up from it – on being the Amazon book link that takes the user to their country’s site, and the other being the Goodreads group GOOD REVIEW.

    There was a point made in the article (I think, I was skim reading lol) about Goodreads’ giveaways not working. I’m running a giveaway at the moment.

    I don’t know if the winners will review my book or not, but I have had book reviewers contact me through Goodreads requesting my book for review. I’m pretty sure it’s because I listed the giveaway.

    Thanks again for sharing. It was a practical article with things I could take action on immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Apr 05, 2015 @ 21:55:05

      From time to time, I’ve offered one or more of my novels as freebies. I found it hard to know whether it brought any reviews or sales, though many were downloaded. I’d be interested to know how you feel it goes once you have a chance to look back at it.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
