The Case for Kindle

A fair and interesting look at the reading experience of books in different formats.
Like the writer, I love ‘real’ books and have a house full of them, but I also have a Kindle, and I enjoy reading books I’ve downloaded onto that or my iPad.
My husband loves hardback books, and reads every book he buys. As I say, we have a house full of books. In the study, each bedroom, the hall, the top of the stairs, the porch, the kitchen….everywhere, except the bathroom.
But I have been reading as many, if not more, lately on my iPad.
So, I found this a very interesting post.

The Reader In the Tower

A couple of days ago, a writer I follow on Twitter shared a very rude email he’d got from a “fan” of his work. The fan was American and the writer English. The fan was furious that the writer’s most recent works were not available as E-books in America and got quite abusive about it (though what they hoped to accomplish by doing this is beyond me.)

The comments were, naturally, sympathetic to the poor writer who copped this abuse. But in their condolences, I could not believe how many people responded with variations on “Pah! E-books are shit anyway. REAL readers love REAL books!”

About five months ago, I blew a lot of my weekly budget on buying my first Kindle, a Paperwhite. (I won’t say that I blew “too much” of my weekly budget, because it was completely worth it, and I’d do it again.) I was, and…

View original post 867 more words

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lesley - Yahoo
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 15:18:28

    Agree entirely, I love the feel of a paper book but a tablet/kindle for convenience & weight allowance on flights.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Naomi
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 21:57:56

    Thanks for this, Christine… never really supposed anyone but me would be interested in my thoughts about Kindles, ha! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. cicampbell2013
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 00:06:27

    Well, I found it very interesting, Naomi, and I agree with you. There is a place for all the formats books come in. The main thing is that we read them.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
