2014 NaNoWriMo Winner

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

It’s December and the weather has turned wintry and cold here in Scotland, but I have that warm and fuzzy feeling inside left over from November’s marathon writing sprint. Now, I know the marathon and the sprint are two different races, so it may seem as though I am mixing my metaphors, but it’s what NaNoWriMo is for me. It’s a marathon in that it continues right through the month, but it’s also a sprint in that at the end of that month I have a first draft and that used to take me months, if not years, to accomplish before I cottoned on to NaNo.
NaNO has not changed how much hard work I put into writing a novel, but it has revolutionised how long it takes me to do that work.
Declaring a daily word-count is such a strong impetus to keep me writing every day. And, yes, I have tried just setting myself a daily target. It doesn’t do it for me. NaNoWriMo does: it just works for me. I know it wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but it certainly is mine. I have completed three NaNos, coming out of each with that precious first draft, that invaluable something to get my editing teeth into.

~~~

My first NaNo novel was Here At The Gatea Contemporary Women’s Novel. If you haven’t read it, you can get your copy right now by clicking on the title, which will take you straight to Amazon, if I’ve managed the link correctly.

Here is a brief synopsis of Here At The Gate

Mhairi had worked hard to build herself a normal, stable life, but there had always been a dark fear inside her. No matter how happy she was, it was always there.

It followed her about like a black bat, haunting her nights, hiding in a corner during her days, flapping out at odd moments, scaring the wits out of her.

It was as though she was standing outside a high-walled garden, barred from the secret of her past by the wrought-iron gate. She could see all the bushes and trees, the rhododendron and hydrangea. She could even smell the roses and the honeysuckle, but then the gate would swing shut and she was outside and it was dark.

Now her happy, settled life was being threatened by her own daughter and she knew she had to force through the darkness. She needed to remember what she had spent a lifetime forgetting.

~~~

My July Camp NaNoWriMo 2014 novel and my November NaNoWriMo novel? Well they are both in the editing phase and are due to be released very soon, as parts one and two of a series about Mirabelle, who becomes a very reluctant detective when her daughter goes missing.

~~~

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Stanley
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 01:35:02

    3 NaNos later…you survived these very well Christine. It’s a lot of hard work, but it paid off for you. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. KatYa
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 02:13:45

    i feel the same way! gratitude for those writing months. hard work and well worth it. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Zee
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 18:53:17

    Yup – you managed the link correctly 🙂

    It’s all about finding what works for us, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. cicampbell2013
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 01:28:03

    Thank you for your comments ladies. Glad the link works. Thanks for testing it, Zee, and you’re right, it is all about what works for each of us. x

    Like

    Reply

  5. marianallen
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 23:08:18

    Congratulations, dear lady! NaNo can be a delight! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Quanie Miller (@QuanieMiller)
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 23:29:00

    Good for you! I’m still kicking around the idea I said I would write last year during NaNo, but of course, I never got to it! I wish I could crank out a book in a month. Maybe one year I’ll participate and even win. Good luck with your upcoming release. I do love a reluctant detective:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Dec 16, 2014 @ 00:06:21

      Thank you,Quanie. I hope you do give it a try one year. Mind you, it’s all very well writing a first draft in a month, you still have the months of hard editing to do. But, there, that’s what writing is all about, isn’t it? Making it better. 😊

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
