Procrastination

They say it’s the thief of time.

Whoever ‘they’ are.

Hmmm! Think I’ll look that one up.

Edward Young (1683 – 1765) an English poet, seems to have coined the phrase: “Procrastination is the thief of time.” 

Charles Dickens (1812 – 1870) an English author, used it and added an injunction: “Procrastination is the thief of time, collar him.”

Don Marquis (1878 – 1937) a New York newspaper columnist and humorist said: “Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday.”

I believe them all.

~~~

But they also say, “Procrastination is the mother of invention.”

Whoever ‘they’ are.

Hmmm! Think I’ll look that one up …

Oops! Yes. I am unashamedly procrastinating. Even in writing this blogpost. I sat here at my computer for one purpose and for one purpose only: to edit my WIP, my next novel, Traces of Red, the second in my Reluctant Detective Series.

So what’s the problem? I want to finish it. I’ve got two more in first draft form. The clock ticks away. Why can’t I get my head round this?

Truth be told, I know exactly what the problem is. Just not so sure how to fix it.

When I first wrote this novel, it was not called Traces of Red, it was called Have You Seen My Daughter? and, having edited and edited, polished and refined it, I sent it off to a few agents and publishers (Not all at once, of course. That would be naughty!)

They all came back to me with the same advice. In short: this is not one book, this is a series. What they, without exception, wanted me to do is break one novel up and spin it out over a few books. Sounds easy? Think again.

I’ve struggled with deciding what belongs to which book, taken chunks out, then put them back in, lost the plot, found it again, thrown the whole lot in the trash folder, retrieved it again, and written and rewritten it.

There is so much good about it, too much, I think. If there were passages I felt were rubbish, they’d be easy to discard. If there were scenes that didn’t further the story, I’d take them out. I want to keep them all, but know, in the interests of keeping your attention, I need to slash and burn again.

But, just before I do, I wonder if you know who said, “Procrastination makes easy things hard, hard things harder.”

I just looked it up, so I can give you a clue, if you like.

There’s this other  proverb I’ve heard….

~~~

#procrastination #the thief of time #editing

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teagan Kearney
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 09:47:58

    Brilliant post, Christine. In a way being told this is a series is a great dilemma – although I sympathize with the daunting amount of work entailed in changing your book. Probably your subconscious is incubating ideas, and soon you’ll wake up, sit down at your computer, and away you’ll go. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Zee
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 23:17:50

    I can relate to the major rewrites! As I reached the part in this post about sending your manuscript off to agents and editors, I thought, “Perfect!”

    I think that’s a really good move for you, and I wish you all the best.

    Keep up the fantastic work! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Michelle Stanley
    Sep 29, 2014 @ 23:22:13

    Hi Christine, I think the post is great. I’ve procrastinated a few times and scolded myself for not finishing an assignment or two, but it’s not a regular habit of mine. Thank goodness.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Sep 30, 2014 @ 07:01:03

    Take whatever time you need to make sure it is the best it can be xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Anna Dobritt
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 02:24:58

    I don’t procrastinate too much, but I do get easily distracted.Squirrel!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
