The Countdown is On!

image

It’s almost time to pack my bags and head to camp.

Last November, I joined NaNoWriMo for the first time and enjoyed it enormously! I could not have imagined how much I was going to enjoy it when I embarked on the crazy idea of writing 50,000 words in the month. I had been struggling to discipline myself to write something, anything, every day, forget about the idea of writing around 1,665 words every day. In the event, I averaged 2,000 and came in a NaNoWriMo Winner with 60,000 words and a complete first draft of a novel.

That first draft became a second, a third and so on until it became my fourth published novel, HERE AT THE GATE.

Here at the gate 3

http://a-fwd.com/asin-uk=B00KIW95OW

This July, I’ve decided to go for it again. Although I have written something every day since that glorious stint in November, I have not been writing anywhere near so much and most of it has been editing and marketing. I am ready to feel the excitement and exhilaration of letting words flow untrammelled from my mind to my fingers, leaving a story in their wake.

Bring it on!

Camp NaNoWriMo, here I come!

This time round, I’m a little more prepared. I hope that doesn’t spoil the fun. I have planned and plotted this novel, and it will be the third in a series I’ve been writing for some time. Some l-0-n-g time. The series is about Mirabelle, a lady whose daughter goes missing. While searching for her daughter, Mirabelle picks up the habit of finding other people. Not a habit she wanted.

July’s novel will partially be set on the Island of Skye, so next week, the first week in July, guess where I’ll be?

Yes, my bags will be packed in reality and I am off to the Island of Skye to do my research as I write my novel.

My Camp NaNoWriMo cabin will be a cottage, and my cabin mate will be my better half, but I feel confident I’ll get my writing done because there’s plenty of football on the television these evenings. Don’t know what that’s about!

Doubt I’ll have much internet connection, so I’ll save the gorgeous photos I’m bound to take till the following weeks, but, prepare yourself, as long as the rain stays away, there is some spectacular scenery on Skye and Mirabelle is bound to notice.

Just to whet your appetite, tomorrow I’ll introduce you to Mirabelle and her daughter, Summer.

~~~

#Novelicious #NaNoWriMo #IslandofSkye #ReadaNovel #MissingPeople

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 01:52:54

    You go girl 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Tanya Miranda
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 03:23:57

    Here comes #5! The Island of Sky…sounds like a working title, no?

    Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Jun 23, 2014 @ 03:40:30

      Thanks, Tanya.
      Because this one will be third in the series I’m writing, it will have to stand in line for a polish once I’ve written it and will be #8 I should think 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. Kayla West
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 03:40:14

    I too will be packing my bags, in my mind, and joining NaNoWriMo in July. Good luck with your story. You’ll do great!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Michelle Stanley
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 23:01:22

    Have a great time Christine. I know your hard work will reap rewards, and can’t wait to see the photos too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
