Slash and Burn

IMG_0051

Well, the time has come

It has to be done

My story’s too long

I must slash and burn.

The beginning is boring

The ending is weak

Something is needed

Much more than a tweak.

With hindsight, I knew it

My darlings must go

I’m certain without them

My story will flow.

The first draft came easy

The writing was fun

Then came the hard work

The edits I’ve done.

The month of November

My story was written

I’ll try it again

With NaNoWriMo I’m smitten.

But the thing for just now

It has to be done

A last edit is needed

I must slash and burn.

~~~

#Editing #NaNoWriMo #WriteWhereYouAre #Slash and Burn #Writing

~~~

 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Stanley
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 22:44:57

    Slash and Burn – love the term and the poem too. Your darlings will understand you have a duty to perform, and although they serve a purpose, their roles in the limelight must come to an end. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. lonnietalouise
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 22:52:52

    Love it!and I love your page!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. lonnietalouise
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 22:53:42

    Reblogged this on lonnietalouise.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Sue Archer
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 23:50:55

    Hi Christine! Just wanted to say I enjoyed your poem. 🙂 It is tough to edit those darlings!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Jean Billheimer
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 01:08:53

    Charming and cheeky-its so difficult to “tweak” them, when every word was alive when written.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. John von Daler
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 04:32:17

    Your poem is a darling, too. Sometimes they have to be pampered, not killed, if we are to remain individuals and not all write in exactly the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. cicampbell2013
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 08:10:38

    Thank you, John. Oh yes, I do agree, and I have kept many of them, but the ones at the beginning had to go. I knew they had to in order to get into the story quicker, but was reluctant for months because the beginning was comfortable, cosy, chatty. But slow. Now that I’ve been brutal, I feel better. The story feels better.
    Thank you for reading. Happy you liked my wee poem. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  8. timothybatesonauthor
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 08:22:58

    Slash and burn really is how I operate during edits. Scenes vanish under the scalpel, Characters are buried under pages of cut material, but nothing is ever really lost.
    I retain a slush pile for cut material, which I mine for ideas whenever I am at a loss of where to go, or in need of a character to fill a hole. So just as in farming, a good slash and burn leaves behind it something fertile, and capable of further growth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. timothybatesonauthor
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 08:24:18

    Reblogged this on Timothy Bateson (ramblings of an author) and commented:
    Slash and burn really is how I operate during edits. Scenes vanish under the scalpel, Characters are buried under pages of cut material, but nothing is ever really lost.
    I retain a slush pile for cut material, which I mine for ideas whenever I am at a loss of where to go, or in need of a character to fill a hole. So just as in farming, a good slash and burn leaves behind it something fertile, and capable of further growth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. Denise Moncrief
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:55:17

    Loved your poem. I’m in the middle of slash and burn with my current project. Feeling the pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49:12

    What a fun poem Christine … I really enjoyed it. Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. Seumas Gallacher
    May 11, 2014 @ 11:28:10

    …Hi Christine… LUV YER VIDEO, THAT WUMMIN! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      May 11, 2014 @ 12:24:51

      Hehe! Luv yer patter on yer blog. Ah used tae live just doon the watter frae ye. In Gourock/Greenock. Noo o’er near Edinburgh.
      Thanks fir likin’ ma wee video. Whit a man!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
