What a Hoot!

image

Over on Writers Coffeehouse on Google+, we’ve been talking about our writer’s space, among other things. Well, this past few days, I’m delighted to say, I’ve been sharing mine with one of my granddaughters.

Cassie is eleven years old and she’s been staying with us while her Mum, one of my daughters, is in hospital. We are having great fun — a hoot, actually — and a productive time together. Cassie made this lovely owl picture for her Mum and we took it up to the hospital to give her. She loved it, of course.

Grandpa has been doing the more active things with Cassie, like walking across the Forth Road Bridge and back, a cold and windy walk of three miles — more, when you add to that the walk down to North Queensferry for lunch in a little cafe, plus the walk to and from where they’d parked the car in South Queensferry.Β She slept well that night.

image

We also got to writing, and Cassie wrote a couple of poems which she’d like to share with you.

Grandma’s Room

My grandma’s room is like Aladdin’s cave,
Two of her ornaments my cousin and I gave.
Two ceramic Roses and a plaque,
Only one thing in her room is black.
The rest is all lemon and cream,
And from the the tidiness of the room,
She’s the Clean Queen.
Since I was little, I loved that room,
And it will be getting another teddy soon!
{SSSSSSHHHHHHH…..Don’t tell her}

Teddy Addiction

I have this thing I call
Teddy addiction
And with our visitors
It can cause friction.
You see, I like my teddies around
my head.
Although they do often slip down the bed.
Some are soft and some are not,
but they are soft more often than not.
Some are big and some are small,
some aren’t teddies at all.
For example, one’s a screen wipe and another is a
pin cushion!
As I said it can cause friction,
but stuff what other people say,
I like to stick to my Teddy Addiction!

So, what do you think? Perhaps not poet laureate yet, but not bad for an eleven year-old rattling it off in next to no time sitting beside me, while I labour over whether to use the perfect or the pluperfect tense.

What a hoot!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. luckyoldman
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 01:44:13

    She has your writing gene, You should be very proud.
    I envy you. I only have a Granddogger.
    I am an American, but have stood pretty much in that same spot ,where you took the photo. I have several photos of the bridge, and and somewhat aware of it’s history I have also eaten at a little coffee shop between the bridge and the Post Office/ Bus stop after an afternoon visit to Incholm Island. I have some pretty pictures of the island on one of my blogs.
    You almost seem like a neighbor.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Zee
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 02:48:36

    I love the Teddy Addiction poem! I reckon that’s pretty close to poet laureate, and the idea of your writing room being like Aladdin’s cave – what ancient magical treasures are lurking, hidden in your cave? Beautiful.

    P.S. I like the word ‘hoot’.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 03:18:16

      Yes, I love the word ‘hoot’ too, Zee. It’s a lovely old-fashioned word. My room is old-fashioned too, filled with treasures, many given by children and grandchildren, others from my own childhood or things I have gathered through the years. There are jewellery boxes with sparkly brooches and rings, trinkets and things, teddy bears peeking round corners and from behind plants, books and paintings, pictures and collages. All my granddaughters adore my room and love visiting me there whenever I’m confined to bed. It’s a devil to dust, but worth it just to watch their pleasure in exploring it.

      Like

      Reply

  3. staleybooks
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 03:20:48

    Sounds like the two of are having a blast! It is fantastic that she shares some if your hobbies and I loved the owl picture, absolutely adorable πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Tanya Miranda
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 06:14:49

    Enjoy the poetry laureate in the making. The poems are awesome and they came from pure imagination. Tenses shmenses (that’s not a real word is it…I’m on my phone and didn’t check)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 10:47:54

    Seems like you are having a great time together! πŸ™‚
    The owl picture is great, ‘Grandma’s Room’ is written from the heart and ‘Teddy Addiction’ is amazing. You must be really proud of having such a wonderful granddaughter! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Teagan Kearney
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 11:04:33

    Lovely poem! She’s lucky to have a grandma who sets such an example. Children really are blessings aren’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. gramma ginnie
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 11:27:03

    Have fun grandparents & Cassie! These are times remembered. Nice poems!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Katie Cross
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 12:45:10

    Oh, she’s amazing! How sweet and fun she sounds. Tell Cassie that I don’t read much poetry and love it, but hers I read AND loved! Keep up the writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. authorleannedyck
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 18:05:29

    Please thank Cassie for sharing her beautiful poetry. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. sharonscorde
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 18:30:07

    Cassie is a natural. Her poetry flows. It was a pleasure to read her two poems.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 05:51:39

    LOL … this is wonderful Christine, cherish your time with her. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. scturnbull
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 08:32:09

    Not only did her mum love the owls, but they now have a prime spot on the wall at home.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  13. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 21:26:02

    Hello Christine! Cassie is adorable. I love her poems. They’re very witty and sweet. It’s awesome you guys have this in common.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
