Well, Who Would Have Guessed?

2013-Winner-Facebook-Cover

I did it!

The challenge was to write 50,000 words in the month of November, the first draft of a novel, something to develop and edit and work on.

And I did it from a standing start.

If asked for my advice next year, I know I will tell you to plan carefully in the weeks leading up to November, to know your characters, to know your story arc, but, hey! If you don’t manage to do all that…

Just go for it!

I have had such fun getting to know my characters as I worked through the month. It was such an exhilarating challenge to make up the story as I went.

What fun to be a NaNoWriMo winner!

So, look out for my NaNo novel in the months ahead.

Mhairi’s Secret has been the working title, but that may change. What won’t change is my delight and disbelief, not that I have written a first draft of a novel, I have done that many times before and have even managed a final draft of three, and had two published so far. No, what delights and amazes me is that I was able to do it in under a month!

Thank you all my wonderful family and friends for your support and interest. I couldn’t have done it without you.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jcckeith
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 04:51:43

    Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Donna Wharton
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 07:51:08

    Fine job. You should be proud! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 08:30:38

    Woo Hoo good for you I can’t wait to read it Good Work Christine xx

    Like

    Reply

  4. jorobinson176
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 08:39:08

    WOOOOT! You’re a champion Christine – well done! xxxxxx

    Like

    Reply

  5. jennieorbell
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 08:40:00

    Go Christine!! Well done you xx

    Like

    Reply

  6. Christine Campbell
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:52:52

    Thank you, girls! And I do believe most of those 50,000 words make sense, tell the story and will make it through the editing process! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Trackback: I did it! | Wendy Miller, Romantic Suspense Author
  8. Katie Cross
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 13:46:35

    AHH! Christine- you did it! Congratulations. That is so awesome.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Tanya Miranda
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 14:06:32

    That’s awesome! And you finished early! May your rounds of editing be swift, smooth, and covered in chocolate.

    Like

    Reply

  10. luckyoldman
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 15:34:59

    Congrats!!
    You are my hero.

    Like

    Reply

  11. authorleannedyck
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 16:21:20

    Congratulations, Christine. And thank you for sharing your tips.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Marian Allen
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 19:45:44

    Hooray! What a blast it is, when we succeed in turning off that inner editor and letting our creative side go wild! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  13. Teagan Kearney
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 20:51:52

    Congratulations, Christine. It really is an accomplishment – and that feeling of having written a novel – even if it’s just the first draft – in such a short time is fantastic. (Will get mine accredited in the next day or so!)

    Like

    Reply

  14. Christine Campbell
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 22:14:50

    Thanks, all of you, for your encouragement! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  15. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:54:39

    Congratulations Christine! That’s very exciting!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
