CPAP or KAPOW!

KAPOW!

I doubt you’ve realised it, but there is a literary link between CPAP and KAPOW! Okay, so it’s a tenuous one, a very tenuous one…but hang on in with me for a wee bittie and you’ll see what I mean.

When chatting recently to a fellow blogger about our NaNoMriMo word count, she remarked that she hadn’t managed her usual terrific daily word count and we had the following exchange.

  • Christine Campbell Sometimes it is just not possible to have the day you planned, but it’s all good, Marian. You will still be on target. New day tomorrow. You’ll get going again no bother. Writing seems to come as easily to you as breathing.
  •  Marian Allen Hahahaha! Yeah, you know I have a CPAP machine, right?
     
    Now, I hadn’t known that, but I do know what a CPAP machine is because, like Marian, my husband has to use one. CPAP stands for Continuous Positive Airway Pressure and the reason they need to use it is that they have Sleep Apnea, a condition where they actually stop breathing for significant intervals throughout the night. According to the Wikipedia entry, it is is a type of sleep disorder characterised by pauses in breathing or instances of shallow or infrequent breathing during sleep. Each pause in breathing, called an apnea, can last from at least ten seconds to several minutes, and may occur 5 to 30 times or more an hour.
    Can I tell you, that’s scary, really scary, when you’re lying awake listening to your spouse breathing…or not!
    Anyway, you still with me? I got to thinking about the literary connection I was telling you about. And this is what I was thinking.
    I have been writing novels, short stories and poetry for years, blogging for months, and it’s a sporadic thing. I always say I’m going to write every day, but, in practice I don’t. I have pauses in the flow of words coming from my pen or laptop. I think I’ll start calling each pause an apnea, but, in the past, these apneas have lasted anything from ten days to several weeks and may have occurred 5 to 30 times a year.
    When I think about it, no wonder it took me years to complete and publish my novels.
    After consultation and diagnosis, Marian and my hubby were prescribed a CPAP machine. Now, remember what that stands for, Continuous Positive Airway Pressure. In short, it keeps them breathing…continuously.
    So where would I find the literary equivalent of a CPAP machine, a KAPOW!
    Then, I saw the solution! Other writers have been using it for years. NaNoWriMo.
    You sign up, a bit like strapping on the machine, turn the power on and KAPOW! as all the best comic books say… you
    Keep Always Pouring Out Words!
    KAPOW!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teagan Kearney
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 22:03:14

    i enjoyed reading your post and loved your comparison!

    Like

    Reply

  2. , J John Portera
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 00:51:19

    This was a wonderfully motivational post for me. My 5th book comes out in December–took 4 years to complete. If I followed posted advise, I would’ve– could’ve written a minimum of three instead of one. Thanks, J John

    Like

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Nov 18, 2013 @ 01:11:17

      Yes, that’s what I’ve come to realize…that I CAN write every day and that means I CAN be more productive.
      Glad you found it helpful. Thank you for taking time to comment.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 02:37:17

    Ha Ha good post Christine … if only a machine could help when you get the dreaded writer’s block.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 18:57:45

    You are quite clever Christine! Ha,ha! My mom uses a CRAP machine also, so I know exactly where you’re coming from. I enjoyed your post. Happy writing! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  5. marianallen
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 15:33:38

    Vashti, I don’t know if “CRAP” machine was a typo or a joke, but it made me spit coffee all over myself. lol!

    When I’m blocked, I tell myself to squeeze out just 250 words. If I manage that, I feel all virtuous and productive and don’t fall into that spiral of self-loathing where I can’t write because I don’t believe that I can write.

    Like

    Reply

  6. jorobinson176
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 07:15:22

    Ha haaa! Cool crazy ladies. 😀 xxx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Katie Cross
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 00:17:08

    Oh, I love this so much I can’t even tell you! CPAP and writing. I’m so impressed.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
