That’s Another Fine Mess You’ve Got Me Into…

image

I’d love to have someone to blame, but, really I haven’t. No-one forced my arm. No-one bribed, begged or bundled me into doing it. It just seemed a good idea at the time.

I’ve signed myself up for NaNoWriMo.

Usually, when I write a novel, I deliberate over the story for months, writing plot lines, scrapping them, starting again, abandoning them and finally just getting started to write hoping the plot will take a natural course. But I do usually have the characters pretty well fleshed out in my mind. By the time I start to write, I have usually lived with them in my head for months, getting to know them and how they feel, how they act and how they speak.

Having just finished my third novel, while I am waiting for it to come back from my proofreader, it seemed a good idea to start another. Since I have the next two almost finished and another well underway, it would have been the easiest thing to get on with one of them, but, hey-ho! Folks were all talking about the fun they were going to have in November writing a novel from scratch in a month. 50,000 words in 30 days, just under 2,000 words every day for the month of November. What a fun idea! What a great discipline to have to put distractions aside and get on with my writing every day.

So, in a mad flurry of  bonhomie, I decided to join the gang and signed up for NaNoWriMo…National Novel Writing Month, to those of you who have never heard of it before.

My first thought was to take one of the novels I had partially written and use the month of November to get it finished and licked into shape, but then, on further reflection I realized that would just not be in the true spirit of the challenge, so I have plunged myself into a completely new novel with only the vaguest idea of where it is going and who is going to be in it. So, plotter or pantser? This time round, looks like I’m certainly going to ‘fly by the seat of my pants’…always supposing I’m going to fly at all. Gulp!

To be continued…

If you feel inclined to read my previous novels to get a handle on my usual writing style, they are available as paperbacks and eBooks on Amazon and Amazon Kindle:

Family Matters

Making it Home

and you’ll find the link just over there > and up a bit^ right under the video clip introducing me to you.

Can you tell? I’m beginning to feel just that little bit manic.

image

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl Clark
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 13:12:56

    Good luck! I’ve never done it, but have tried other similar challenges. I think the trick is just to get in and do it. You can always polish later.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Katie Cross
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 13:14:24

    Oh, I love that picture!

    I’m doing NaNo as well. Here’s to doing it together, Marie!

    Like

    Reply

  3. mjdresselbooks
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 13:42:51

    I’m doing it again this year. Not sure where I’ll find the time, but I’m digging in. I know my hero because he was introduced in a current up-coming book, but the heroine is brand new to me, and I haven’t had time to get to know her as well as I’d like. Hang in there and make it fun. No pun intended! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Teagan Kearney
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 13:55:38

    I’m sure you’ll be fine, Christine – and as has been said – just dive in and have fun with it. I’m also doing the nano – 1st year, didn’t finish, 2nd year (last year) did finish. And very happy to be trying again this year.
    Good luck to all of us!

    Like

    Reply

  5. cicampbell2013
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 14:11:10

    Good to know I’m far from alone among those I know online. Thanks for your encouragement, guys. Rooting for all of us! Go NaNo, Go!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Alyssa Auch
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 16:27:57

    Good luck! I think I’ll do it next year when I’m not a full-time student with 3 toddlers and a house falling apart at the seams!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 16:31:23

    Great post Christine! Good luck and happy writing at NaNoWriMo! I’m sure you’ll do well. Sometimes being under pressure brings out the best in people. Like I’ve being saying to all my friends doing NaNo: May the muse be with you!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 19:38:21

    Go for it Christine … You’ll rise to the the challenge and might end up with a best seller xx

    Like

    Reply

  9. cicampbell2013
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 00:58:31

    Thank you all for your encouragement.
    Hehe! That would be fun, Yolanda. Unlikely…but fun! x

    Like

    Reply

  10. KatYa
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 01:03:52

    Good for you! I am only 1,000 words into day#1, but I was surprised how it went for 2 hours this morning! You know where my heart stopped beating was the first line of dialogue between my first 2 characters. But I pushed through it, and 6 hours to write the next thousand.

    Like

    Reply

    • cicampbell2013
      Nov 02, 2013 @ 01:37:06

      Well done, you too. Pushing through seems to be the way to go. You have to permit yourself to write badly if that’s all that comes to you. You can always edit at your leisure in December!

      Like

      Reply

  11. jorobinson176
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 03:00:25

    That should be the nano poster photo – cool Christine! Good luck! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  12. Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 05:07:00

    Best of luck Christine! You can do it! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
