Nothing Could Be Heard

image

For many, those words cast a shadow over their weekend. For others, they are a light to which we flutter. Every second Monday, joy of joys, PenPals meet. PenPals Writers’ Club. We meet to share thoughts, inspiration, ideas and writing, and each meeting we select a writing prompt to encourage us to write something we can share at the next meeting.

Often, there is a mad scurry on Sunday night or Monday morning to wrestle something out of the ether. Other times, much thought and research goes into the production of a short story, an essay or a poem, which comes together…often in a mad scurry on Sunday night or Monday morning. Most times, it’s a mixture of the two: the prompt wanders around inside our heads, gathering crumbs of information, marinating thoughts until they’re ready for serving…usually in a mad scurry on Sunday night or Monday morning.

So, today, and for the next few days, I’d like to share some of the results of this Monday’s meeting using the prompt, ‘Nothing could be heard.’

First up, I’ll give you my own effort, not because it won any prizes. Far from it. I felt humbled by the quality of my fellow members’ efforts. Mine is short and simple by comparison, and falls into the first of the mad scurry categories, being wrestled from the ether in the wee small hours of Sunday night/Monday morning and bears the hallmark of one who is lying awake in the loneliness of a dark night.

Image: night sky by epichtekill

Night_Sky_by_EPICHTEKILL

***

Nothing Could Be Heard

Nothing could be heard when the midnight sky was plundered
By the billowing, belching cloud
Stolen stars were silenced
Disappeared without a word

Nothing could be heard when with pain my heart was sundered
By words written in a note
Terminating love forever
Derelict of hope or thought

Nothing can be heard as I go under
In the waves of tortured blue
Only the cry of night birds
Screaming reproach on all who knew

No-one tries to save me
No helping hand is found
Nothing can be heard in the ocean of pain
Where I drown without a sound

*Christine*

***

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jorobinson176
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 03:35:56

    Wow! I wish I knew how you poet guys do this. Brilliant Christine!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Alana Munro author
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 05:43:40

    You are talented Christine 🙂 I will share on social media!

    Like

    Reply

  3. adriannajoleigh
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 07:22:10

    Holy cow ! Everytime I read your work I grow more impressed with the way you use your words to bring a person in with you. Brilliantly done!!! I’m sharing this!

    Like

    Reply

  4. jennieorbell
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 07:34:12

    Often, a poem never carries me beyond the first verse – this took to me the very last word. Loved it! Well done Christine x

    Like

    Reply

  5. cicampbell2013
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 14:10:05

    Thank you so much, girls! You are all so encouraging. Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. sharonscorde
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 17:47:44

    It’s such a thought provoking poem, Christine. The more I read it the more I love it. xx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Glen
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 17:53:45

    Beautifully done Christine. Poems are for the most part new to me. I am learning to like them more with poems like this.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Aura
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 18:01:53

    Very nice. I like how it reflects the feeling of heartbreak.

    Like

    Reply

  9. marianallen
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 18:13:00

    I love your use of repetition. So sad, and so often so true. 😦

    Like

    Reply

  10. cicampbell2013
    Jun 13, 2013 @ 00:24:23

    You have all been most kind and encouraging. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
