Uphill Struggle, Steep Learning Curve…or Top of the World?

This has been, correction, this is, so much fun!

Ever since I uploaded my previously published novels, Family Matters and Making It Home, onto Amazon Kindle, I have been on a Steep Learning Curve.

After years of sitting on a mountain of words I’d written, protecting them from censure, hiding them in the deep recesses of my laptop, I let the first of them see the light in 2008, the second in 2009. It felt as though I’d reached dizzying heights. Because they were published by small, independent publishers, they were POD, print on demand, so available on Amazon, able to be ordered but not stocked in bookshops. I was shy about promoting and advertising them, but, even so, managed to sell a respectable number. I was On Top of the World.

Meantime, we were in the middle of an earthquake I’d been trying to survive and ignore without being swept away by. The whole world was changing, reforming around me. The landscape looked different and I noticed another peak had emerged nearby. One I never thought I could attempt to climb. Little over a month ago, I donned my hiking boots and started up The Steep Learning Curve of internet marketing and media. I hammered in my first peg and uploaded my books on Amazon Kindle.

The view looked good, hanging on to that shoogly peg. Wanting to make it more secure, I hammered it home by emailing, texting and facebooking my contact lists, telling them about my venture into this Brave New World.

Inching up the mountain, I hammered in another peg, I started a blog. This blog. Let the fun begin!

Some of my pegs are proving difficult to hammer in. I wobble now and then in the Google+ community, trying to make a contribution to some of the great chat threads there without falling into the self promotion crevasse or overstepping the rules. I haven’t quite got to grips with Twitter. I’m making lots of mistakes, missteps, stumbling a little, hanging on to the last steady peg and trying again. It’s a bit of an Uphill Struggle sometimes, learning how to link one thing to another, how to make all these social media tools work to my advantage. Now and again I feel as though I could easily get blown off the narrow ledge I’m clinging to. Thankfully, there’s always someone there to gently tug on the rope, remind me I’m not alone, help me keep going. And oh! I’m enjoying the adventure!

All I can say to other reluctant mountaineers, other media-scared authors: put on your hiking boots, come join me. The view up here is magnificent!

Glenfinnan2

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jorobinson176
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 14:58:09

    I think you’re doing brilliantly! Loving your warm and friendly words. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. cicampbell2013
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 20:29:02

    Thank you, Jo. You are so encouraging.

    Like

    Reply

  3. lista de email
    May 06, 2013 @ 11:22:08

    highly interesting many thanks, there’s no doubt that your trusty followers may want even more reviews like this carry on the excellent work.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow cicampbellblog on WordPress.com
